On the occasion of the European Heritage Days, discover the Château de Drée. Guided tours of the castle interior will take place throughout the day, and you can stroll through the park.
About the venue
A few years before the construction of Versailles, in 1620, Charles de Blanchefort de Créquy, duke of Lesdiguières and marshal of France makes build the castle. Drée, although still not bearing this name, was born. In the middle of the XVIIIth century, the earth(ground) and the Castle of Bazolle are sold to Etienne, count of Drée. Drée is then a family very implanted in the region: Brionnais. They are counts but in 1767, they are going to take marquess's title and raise(bring up) the castle in marquisate and leave with it their name. Etienne is the 1st marquess of the name. His son and grandson were his successors in the ownership of the earth(ground) of Drée until 1837\. In the XIXth century, under the reign of Louis Philippe, the countess of Tournon, Augustine Louise Adèle, buy the earth(ground) of Drée and make some modifications (external portico(gantry)). Her daughters Amélie and Alix are then going to inherit from Drée. His grand-daughter Eugénie Louise is going to get married to a prince of Cro ÿ (noble family of Belgium). This family is going to live in the house until 1993, date in which the last prince Gustave dies. In 1995, the Castle is going to find a sponsor: Ghislain Prouvost, descendant of the industries of the textile(textile industry) of the North. From that time all its efforts consist in protecting, in keeping(preserving), in restoring and in re-furnishing(re-filling) this splendid castle. The site of Drée is open to the public since summer, 1997\. The castle is not listed(classified), only facades and roofing are registered on the Additional Inventory of Historic monuments.
Access: 5 km of The Shelf by Curbigny.