The gallery of contremine of the Bastion Saint-Peter

Visit by a guide-lecturer of Artistic and Historical Towns and Areas.

© Jean-Luc Petit, Ville de Chalon-sur-Saône

Unusually kept(preserved), the gallery of contremine is an integral part of the fortification built in the XVIth century.
Visit by a guide-lecturer of Artistic and Historical Towns and Areas.

About the venue

12-14 rue du Professeur Leriche, 71100 Châlon-sur-Saône
  • Monument historique
  • ,
  • Édifice militaire, enceinte urbaine

Chalon-sur-Saône occupied, from 1477 to 1678, a strategic location, on the border between Burgundy, now French, and Franche-Comté, now the land of the Empire. With the appearance of the cast iron cannonball, the medieval enclosures no longer play their protective role and fortification works were then carried out by Girolamo Bellamarto between 1547 and 1555\. The bastions and ramparts of Chalon can be the subject of a walk, from the quai Sainte-Marie, then the rue de la Motte, the rue de Belfort (Bastion Royal), the rue de Dijon, the rue du professeur Leriche (bastion Saint Pierre), the square of the veterans of the Far East (bastion Saint Paul). This is an opportunity to discover a type of fortifications little known in France, prior to those of the famous Vauban, but an essential milestone for the construction of these. The counter-mine (or escarpe) gallery is still visible today at the Saint-Pierre bastion. But a similar construction existed at the bastion Saint-Paul today leveled.