Sélestat, the humanist city, is full of frescoes and wall paintings. Let’s discover their history!
Sélestat the colorful inspired the artists of our time.
This guided tour will take us through the city through the murals that tell its history, and especially that of the Sélestadiens.
The visit is ideal for those who already know Sélestat, as well as for families with children looking for fun and accessible cultural activities.
About the venue
The order of St.John of Jerusalem settled in Selestat in 1265\. The preceptory was built on this occasion, and the chapel was blessed in 1268 by Albert the Great, and dedicated to St. In 1399 the preceptory passed under the protection of the preceptory of Strasbourg and became a priory. The year 1407 saw the construction of a new church dedicated to Saint John the Baptist, the former chapel Saint-Michel serving as choir. The years following the estate grew. A school with boarding school was organized by the priests residing in the preceptory. Until 1560, the priests lived in a house built around 1410, called Ritterhof (3 place du Vieux marché aux vins). In 1565 the commander of Strasbourg Jean Holl had a new building built by the architect Michel Sindelin who died during the works. The building was completed in 1566 but bears the date 1565.