About the venue
Also called Wilhelmskirche in German, this Gothic church of Strasbourg is allocated to Protestant worship(cult). Located in the junction of the quays(platforms) of the Boatmen and of the Fishermen, but slightly set back(slightly decreasing), it is remarkable for its picturesque situation at the edge of Ill. Based(Established) in the first years of the XIVth century, this modest church was immediately given to the monastic Order of Guillemites. Altered in the XVth century by the addition of a rood screen, it passed to Reform in 1534\. But its present state dates principally the XVIIth century: the facade replaced then a triple pine nut(cog) and was combed(put on) of an arrow to the summit of which an anchor reminds that Saint rabbet plane was the parish of the fishermen and of the boatmen. A vaulted narthex of ogives was built in front of a wide nave, culminated as the lengthened(stretched out) chorus(choir). The rood screen was moved forward in the chorus(choir) in 1667\. Since then, he(it) supports an organ loft and fact of the apse a chapel. The church contains a grave in exceptional gisants of the XIVth century of the hand of Woelflin de Rouffach, a polychrome wooden relief of the XVth century illustrating the conversion of saint Guillaume, as well as the remarkable stained-glass windows: the axial window of 1345 illustrating the life of the Christ results(comes) from the church of the Dominicans of Strasbourg (destroyed at the end of the XIXth century), other stained-glass windows of the XVth century restored at the end of the XIXth century relate the life of saint Guillaume and that of saints Catherine. Let us indicate, to finish, the pulpit of 1656 of style " baroque cartilage " and the altar of the XVIIIth century.
Access: Tram stop Gallia.