Visit free of the Bridge(Deck) locks through in the South
Go off to explore the bridge(deck) and its exhibition(exposure) on the history(story) of fortifications
Go off to explore the bridge(deck) and its exhibition(exposure) on the history(story) of fortifications A stand(pit) of information will be livened up(led) by the members of the Company(Society) of History(Story) and of Archaeology of Lorraine (SHAL).
About the venue
Bridges(Decks) locks the South and the North of Thionville were built between 1746 and 1752 by Louis de Cormontaigne, director of fortifications. In objective to avoid damages due to the floods of the Moselle, a bypass channel is dug(accentuated). Bridges(Decks) - locks allow the traffic(circulation) then between both banks of this channel(canal). It is possible to hold(retain) also the defensive character of works assuring(insuring) a continuity aves the ramparts of Thionville.
Access: Parking lot nearby