Guided tour of the Garreau Mill
Visit of the Garreau Mill with comments on its origins dating back to the 11th century. It belonged to the Seigneury of Beugnon-Pottereau and was bequeathed to the Abbey of Saint-Maixent in 1093. It is the first mill located on the course of La Longèves which had 11 downstream. Not only did he produce flour to supply the bakeries of the region (very active during the last two world wars), but his energy also made it possible to operate a sawmill and a dynamo for the production of electricity. Equipped with 3 pairs of wheels still in place, its mechanism was completely restored to the same in 2005 in order to produce flour from a bluterie allowing the selection of products. It is equipped with a device for lifting the wheels allowing them to be dressed periodically. The site of the Garreau Mill constitutes a bucolic natural area of more than 4ha. Its hydraulic device composed of 2 guillotine valves allows the regulation of water supply to the mill. 2 fishing ponds are located nearby for the pleasure of our fishing visitors.